Enjoy the natural warmth of solid wood in Miller Hall with its bold architecture and rough-hewn ambiance. The hall boasts an open broad-beamed 72-foot clear span ceiling with no posts to interfere with your function. Polished stone floors alternate with contemporary carpet to lend a quiet elegance to the Hall’s spacious feeling.
- Broad-beam ceiling, polished stone floor, and wooden architecture
- Versatile lobby, private patio, and lawn provide flexibility for your event needs
- Includes two private client lounges, portable stage, lectern, AV, Wi-Fi, tables and indoor chairs
- Separate service drive for quick delivery and off-loading
For more information please fill out our Event Inquiry Form or call (503) 488-2101. Our call volume is very high and we make every attempt to return messages within 24 hours.
Who was Harold A. Miller?
Harold A. Miller (1903-1981), an immensely successful lumberman of the Pacific Northwest and California, was a principal founder of the Western Forestry Center. As Chairman of the Board from 1968 to his death on February 12, 1981, his leadership and support were vital to the establishment, growth, and ultimate success of the Western Forestry Center.
Born in Detroit, Michigan in 1903, Miller attended Stanford’s School of Economics before relocating to Oregon to develop lumbering operations in Tillamook County with Charles S. Stimson. Together, they located and built the Stimson sawmill near Forest Grove, which sustained the local economy for generations.
Other business ventures of Harold A. Miller included purchases of redwood timberland in Del Norte County, California. Large parcels of this ownership were later carved out by the U.S. Government to create the Redwood National Park.
Mr. Miller served as President of the American Hardboard Association in 1952 and as President of the California Redwood Association from 1968 until 1971. His business successes throughout his career allowed him to generously support educational and charitable causes.
Undeniably, Harold A. Miller was a man who stood out among men. He touched the lives of many through business and philanthropy and, accordingly, left a better world than he entered.
History of Miller Hall
In partnership with his fellow Forestry Center trustees, Harold Miller recognized a need to replace Portland’s old Forestry Building after its tragic destruction by fire in 1964. Construction of the Western Forestry Center began in July 1969, and on June 5, 1971, the original 35,000 square-foot Center opened its doors to the public.
In 1979, following a decade of rapid educational growth, Mr. Miller provided the initial efforts to fund a million-dollar, 10,000 square-foot education building which was dedicated as Harold A. Miller Hall on December 19, 1980.
Architect John Storrs designed a timeless monument to wood engineering and to Harold A. Miller, the man who made the building possible. This structure with its workshop, classroom, meeting room and large exhibit area contributes to the beauty of the Forestry Center.